Flower Power Tea Cookies

28 May
MySpace cookie shot

Dare you eat…the forbidden cookies!?

Better late than never? The deadline for this month’s Tea Time Treats challenge, hosted by Karen at Lavender and Lovage, happens to be…uh…today…I considered giving it up and not doing it at all, but hey, if not now, when?

I’m not normally one to do the cooking/baking challenge things, primarily because, until earlier today/yesterday, I didn’t have a food blog. I also don’t have a camera, so unfortunately pictures will have to wait until I can borrow my roommate’s camera (I’m also not great at cooking for aesthetics—I’d say it’s because flavor is more important, but let’s face it, I’m just lazy). Still, this month’s Tea Time Treats challenge was floral-themed, and when you say “flower” plus “tea” it reminds me of a recipe I made about 4-5 years ago on a whim. I had just started really cooking that year, and the idea of incorporating tea into food blew my mind a little. I remember making these jasmine tea cookies from teachef.com and being pretty impressed with them. I’ve meant to make them again since, but never quite get around to it. This time, I wanted to follow through with this plan, and incidentally tinker with the recipe a little, since I’ve gotten a lot better at messing around with recipes over the years.

For starters, I added rose tea to the mix, and because I’m fortunate enough to have both rosewater and jasmine essence in the house, decided to add those for a double-trouble flower-power flavor punch (say that three times fast!). The tea I used was all loose tea from the excellent Carytown Teas in Richmond, VA; I used Rose, Jasmine Orange Blossom, Versailles Lavender and Lychee in the cookies (I pared it down to just jasmine and rose in the recipe so as not to overwhelm anyone, but if willing to experiment, Earl or Lady Grey would make an OK stand-in for the Versailles Lavender).

These little numbers are addictively chewy right out of the oven, and cool to a cakey, soft, almost scone-like consistency afterwards. They are intensely floral; biting into a warm one is like walking into a botanical garden on the first sunny day of spring (or…uh…like biting into a flower-flavored cookie ;P). These may not be your stereotypical “tea cookie,” but they sure are great for dipping into your cuppa, whether that’s one of tea, milk, or even coffee.

Big thanks to Karen and Kate! Thanks to this awesome challenge theme, I finally got off my duff and 1) started a recipe/food blog like I’ve been tossing around for months and 2) entered a cooking/baking challenge like I’ve been claiming I would do “one of these days.” XD

Flower Power Jasmine Rose Tea Cookies

(for Tea Time Treats’ May Floral Challenge)

Jasmine Rose Tea Cookies, now with dramatic lighting and MySpace angle!

Cook Time: 35 minutes
Serving Size: 1 dozen or so, depending on your preferred cookie size

Ingredients

  • ½ cup unsalted butter (melted)
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 2 ½ tbsps. honey
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsps. jasmine tea leaves
  • 2 tsps. rose tea leaves
  • ½ tsp. finely crushed jasmine and rose tea leaves
  • 1 tsp. Earl or Lady Grey tea leaves, plus ¼ tsp. finely crushed Earl or Lady Grey tea leaves (optional)
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • ¾ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. rosewater
  • ½ tsp. jasmine essence
  • 1 ½ tbsps. cocoa powder, cinnamon, or sugar, for sprinkling (optional)
  • ½ cup mini dark chocolate or cinnamon chips, for topping (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Steep the tea leaves in ¼ cup water for 5 mins. Set in fridge to cool.
  3. Cream butter, sugar, honey, cinnamon, and salt.
  4. Add egg, mix thoroughly.
  5. Make sure tea is chilled enough not to cook the egg, and add it to the mix, along with the rosewater and jasmine essence.
  6. Sprinkle the tea leaves over the batter, making sure there are no large or stiff pieces (that’s what she said!).
  7. Add flour and baking powder, and mix until dough is stiff (that’s wh—wait, I already made that joke).
  8. [optional: If you’re not lazy like me, turn dough out onto wax paper or plastic wrap and form into a 3×8-inch log. Cover and refrigerate 1 hour or until firm (if doing this step, you may not want to preheat the oven until later).]
  9. Drop dough onto a greased baking sheet [or, if doing step 8, cut ¼-inch slices from dough log and place accordingly].
  10. [Optional: Sprinkle with desired toppings.]
  11. Bake for about 10 minutes, checking cookies occasionally. Raise the heat to 350 for the last 2 minutes of cooking.
  12. Remove cookies from oven and let cool in pan for a minute or two before transferring to baking rack.
3 Responses to “Flower Power Tea Cookies”

  1. Karen Burns Booth 28/05/2012 at 16:07:29 #

    WONDERFUL recipe and I am thrilled that you have entered these into the tea time treats challenge on such a NEW blog! FABULOUS! Thanks – Karen

    • M. 28/05/2012 at 22:25:31 #

      Thanks so much! And thank you for having a challenge so irresistible (and tasty)!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Part Two – Tea Time Treats – BIG FAT FLORAL BAKING ROUND UP! « Lavender and Lovage - 31/05/2012

    […] FLOWER POWER TEA COOKIES […]

Chew on this issue…

