Keeping the dream alive

15 Jul

The dream of updates, that is.

Another month has crawled by, and with it, the utter lack of any updates. This is not to say I haven’t been cooking—since last post, I did indeed eventually grill those lamb ribs (lamb breast is a pain of a cut to dress, by the way, though tasty), bake olive bread cookies (can’t think of anything else to call them) to the faculty luncheon, make another fantastic mango mousse pie (courtesy of this delicious, easy and consistently awesome recipe at Serious Eats, and once again make the crispy-skinned, juicy, and tender Puerto Rican tour de pork known as pernil (pork shoulder) with arroz con gandules (rice with pigeon peas) and a key lime pie for a friend’s birthday…so it’s not that I haven’t been cooking. I just have a problem getting pictures of the food while it’s still looking nice. D:

This post is even more delayed because the first time I tried to post it, my browser crashed, and I had completely forgotten that WordPress, bless its inanimate little soul, saves draft versions of posts, so I have it after all.

I’ll be going out of town in a couple of weeks, which means I’ll be cooking less as I will have to eat up all of the leftovers in the fridge first (and I still don’t quite have the “cooking for *not* an army” thing down yet). Still, I do have access to my roommate’s camera now, so if I do come up with something…I definitely need to take a picture of *something* I’ve made, if nothing else because the tarte tatin close-up that is currently serving as my header image doesn’t, ah, look very delicious the way it fits here.

Chew on this issue…

